Habscheid Nominated for Sofina Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award

Lucas Chudleigh/Apollo Multimedia

Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League has announced the nominees for the 10 major awards that will be presented at the annual CHL Awards Ceremony which takes place on Saturday, May 25 as part of the 2019 Memorial Cup presented by Kia festivities in Halifax.

Head Coach Marc Habscheid is up for the 2018-19 Sofina Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award.

Habscheid won the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy as the WHL Coach of the Year at the WHL Awards in May. He guided the Raiders to a league-best 54-10-2-2 record to claim the East Division banner and the Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy for the team’s best season since 1984-85.

During this season, the Raiders won 26 of its first 28 games, including a 19-game winning streak. In the WHL Playoffs, the Raiders finished with a 16-7 record to win the Ed Chynoweth Cup for the first time in 34 seasons. Habscheid also reached the 500-win plateau in the WHL and coached in his 1,000th career game.

Habscheid previously won the Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy and the Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award in 2003 as he led the Kelowna Rockets to a 51-win year. He has also coached the Kamloops Blazers and Chilliwack Bruins/Victoria Royals.

Sofina Brian Kilrea Coach of the Year Award:
Marc Habscheid (Prince Albert Raiders)
Andre Tourigny (Ottawa 67’s)
Mario Pouliot (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies)

Most recent winner by league: Drew Bannister (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2018), Gilles Bouchard (Rouyn-Noranda Huskies 2016), Jim Hiller (Tri-City Americans 2012).


More News
NHL 20 Showdown: Jeremy Masella vs. Zack Hayes
6 days ago
Raiders Alum Draisaitl Wins NHL's Art Ross Trophy
1 week ago
#CHLShowdown Playoffs: Semi-Final #1
2 weeks ago
5 Questions with Zack Hayes
2 weeks ago
Raiders to Reopen Office
3 weeks ago
Raiders Rewind: Game 7, 2019 Rogers WHL Championship Series
3 weeks ago