Raiders Alumni Draisaitl Selected as Finalist for Ted Lindsay Award

Edmonton Oilers

Toronto, ON – Edmonton Oilers centreman and Raiders alumnus Leon Draisaitl was selected as one of three finalists for the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award, the NHLPA announced on Tuesday morning.

Draisaitl is up for the award with Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche and Artemi Panarin of the New York Rangers. The Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, is presented annually “to the most outstanding player in the NHL” as voted by NHLPA members.

While playing in all 71 regular season games for the Oilers, Draisaitl led all scorers with 110 points (43 goals, 67 assists) to become the first German-born player to win the Art Ross Trophy. He also topped the league in assists, points per game (1.55) and power-play points (44) while tying for first in game-winning goals (10).

Draisaitl was drafted second overall in the 2012 CHL Import Draft by the Raiders. He suited up in 128 games over two seasons with the Raiders from 2012 to 2014, scoring 59 goals and 104 assists in that span. He was picked third overall by the Oilers in the 2014 NHL Draft.

The 2019-20 Ted Lindsay Award recipient will be announced during the Stanley Cup Playoffs’ Conference Finals.

More News
Allan Loaned to SJHL's La Ronge Ice Wolves
1 day ago
Watts Signs with Wichita Thunder
1 day ago
Guhle Invited to World Juniors Selection Camp
2 days ago
Pearce Loaned to SJHL's Estevan Bruins
3 days ago
Three Raiders, One Prospect Make NHL Central Scouting’s Preliminary Players to Watch List
4 days ago
Herman, Nachbaur Loaned to MJHL's OCN Blizzard
5 days ago