Frank Dunn Toyota Highlight of the Year: Semifinals Update

The semifinalists have been determined in the Frank Dunn Toyota Highlight of the Year Tournament. Here’s our semifinal schedule:

  • Semifinal: Spencer Moe vs. Ilya Usau – June 29
  • Semifinal: Max Paddock vs. Ozzy Wiesblatt – July 2

Here’s how we got the four semifinalists. The quarter-finals saw voting extend to Instagram to go along with Twitter. In the first quarter-final matchup, Spencer Moe got his revenge on Carter Serhyenko when his give-and-go goal against the Regina Pats took out the rookie netminder’s sprawling stop in Moose Jaw against the Warriors.

An all Max Paddock matchup was up next. His glove save against the Edmonton Oil Kings took out his blocker save against the Swift Current Broncos.

The third quarter-final matchup had Ilya Usau’s dangle through the Rebels’ defence in Red Deer end the run of “The Kick Pass” from Aliaksei Protas to Brayden Watts, who then batted his own rebound out of the air.

It was another single-player showdown in the final quarter-final with this one featuring two Ozzy Wiesblatt goals. Wiesblatt’s power-play goal against the Kelowna Rockets took down his overtime winner against the Calgary Hitmen.

Voting for the semifinals begins on Monday with Spencer Moe taking on Ilya Usau. The Twitter polls for the semifinals and the finals will be two days long.

More News
WHL Announces Adjusted Start Date for 2020-21 Regular Season
1 month ago
Milestone Monday: Ian Scott Scores a Goal
5 days ago
Five Questions Presented By Mann-Northway: Graydon Gotaas
1 week ago
RE/MAX Presents: WHL Suits Up to Promote Organ Donation surpasses $585,000 raised
1 week ago
Protas, Usau Starting Strong in Minsk
1 week ago
Milestone Monday: Montgomery Breaks Games Played Record
2 weeks ago
Five Questions Presented By Mann-Northway: Remy Aquilon
2 weeks ago